The 3rd of the 20 Tantric Kriyas.

By Mugs McConnell, E-RYT500

Nada Sanchalan builds on chakra anusandhana which was featured in December so be sure to have familiarized yourself with this process first. (It is a lovely process of investigating the inner location of your chakras.) 

Nada means “sound,” and here we have a rotation of sound consciousness using the sacred mantra OM.

During inhalation, visualize the prana ascending up the front passageway of the body (arohan) and, during exhalation, the prana descending down the back passageway (awarohan).

Sit in a comfortable seated pose with a straight spine. 

The eyes are open. 

You will use ujjayi breath with the tongue curled back to touch the soft palate (amritpan khechari mudra.) 

Lower the chin to “look at” muladhara chakra. 

Repeat (mentally) “muladhara” three times. Inhale up the frontal part of the body, repeating the names of each chakra as you move your attention from muladhara to svadhisthana, manipura, anahata, and vishuddhi. 

As the mind moves up to each chakra, the head moves up to them too. 

At vishuddhi chakra (throat) the head is in a neutral position, and then the chin rises as consciousness moves to bindu. 

Hold the breath at bindu and repeat mentally “bindu, bindu, bindu.” 

Burst into an extended “Om” while exhaling down the back passageway, taking your consciousness to ajna, vishuddhi, anahata, manipura, svadhisthana, and muladhara. 

The head movement follows the chakras down as you bring your attention to each of them.

Repeat this process thirteen times, then rest in the peaceful bliss that follows the sound of OM.

Here is a video to guide you through the process. You can read more about it on page 150 in Letters from the Yoga Masters.  Enjoy!

Marion Mugs McConnell is the author of Letters from the Yoga Masters: Teachings Revealed through Correspondence from Paramhhansa Yogananda, Ramana Maharshi, Swami Sivananda, and Others, published by North Atlantic Books copyright © 2016 ISBN 978-1-62317-035-6. This is an excerpt of the book, and reprinted by permission of North Atlantic Books.